Starting 2017 the Spirit-filled Way

My blog post for the first week of the eighteenth year of the 21st century.

2016 came to an end with a blast, with smiles, and with happiness. As the last digit of the year became 7, I had different thoughts in my mind, like “will I be really intentional in discipleship this 2017?”, or something like “how would I handle different situations as a discipler and a disciple myself?” But yeah, I’m ready for surprises the Lord would give me this year.

This year, I also started reading 2 devo books to help myself grow as a Christian, to be more Spirit-filled, and learn different things day by day.

This week’s learnings and thoughts:

God’s ways work differently, we should learn to trust Him.

Isaiah 55:8-9

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD. As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways and My thoughts than your thoughts.”

God works wonderfully, His ways are perfect, and higher than my own. Some would make us joyful, while others make us hurt or troubled, but in the end, we’ll see good results. He knows what’s best for us and He perfectly knows how to teach us through different situations. Having Him in our hearts doesn’t clear the obstacles in our path, it’s just this way: we conquer and go through that obstacles with God by our side, and He will never leave us nor abandon us. Another thing to remember is that He is our Heavenly Father, and whenever we encounter problems, we should always remind ourselves that He’s in control.

We should pursue Him all the more.

Psalm 42:1

“… As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, my God.”

As followers of Christ, our hunger for Him ignites, so we should pursue Him all the more. By this, we get to learn how to be more Spirit-filled in all circumstances. Also, we should cry out to God that we’re desperate of His presence and that may He show to us what we don’t know of Him. Having Christ in our lives is the best thing we can have, and nurturing our spirit and showing growth is really important.

We’re living to make Him known.

2 Corinthians 4:7-11

“But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body. For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that his life may also be revealed in our mortal body.”

By living for Christ, we might face hardships and trials, but we always have to remember that God is on our side, and forever will be. This just means that we will not be destroyed. The Lord is fighting for us, we only need to be still (Exodus 14:14). As one family, we’re lifting up the Name of Jesus in Spirit and in truth for Him to be made known by the people all over the earth and of its ends.

My #SongOfTheWeek:

Leave a Reply

