A New Path Taken for 2016

My first blog post.

People had different experiences this year, whether it be good or bad, pleasant or otherwise. We had joyful memories to be kept in our minds and deep down in our hearts, yet problems and trials sometimes did block our way to happiness.

If you’ll ask me, this year had been so special.

I was a teen who knew Jesus, but also a teen who kept on following the world’s patterns. I went to church with my family, yet what I learned inside the church, I left it inside. I didn’t really try to absorb what I hear during messages, so there was zero application.

All of these changed when I really came to know the Lord, by abiding in Him and in His unending love.

Last March, out of nowhere, I asked a friend of mine if she could join me attend Elevate, CCF’s youth fellowship, and be parts of small groups. She said she could, and then afterwards we invited a classmate. I already had a small group registration form so I photocopied mine and gave to them.

The registration process took 2 weeks. Our new small group leaders contacted us, and by God’s grace, we finally met with our leaders last April 2 (which was quite hassle since we had classes in the morning that day).

(Let’s focus on myself)

T’was a beautiful day for me, even though our school year ended that very day. I knew something exciting was waiting for me. And it was not just exciting, but also life-changing and a turning point for me:
Accepting Jesus Christ as my personal Lord and Savior. (No turning back!)

2 Corinthians 5:17
“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!”

received_10206386997873196.jpeg

OUR DGROUP! (taken Dec. 10, 2016)

After the meeting was Elevate, and real joy started to go into my heart. I was blessed by the praise and worship sessions and the message. That day I knew I was made for a purpose– His purpose.

Romans 8:28
“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, those who have been called according to His purpose.”

Gradual change took place as days, weeks, and months passed by. Spiritual change is not rushed, though. Bad habits were constantly removed from my mind, not just habits but also other doings which I thought were alright. Before, I always thought that I should live for myself and my own glory; then I realized it should be for Him and His glory.

Being really spirit-filled, I joined a ministry, and now, I regularly volunteer for Elevate [though I was just formally made a part of the ministry last November]. I also joined a retreat which taught me that I should always let Jesus take control, and that as a follower of Him, surrender is inevitable. During that retreat, I also was baptized, finally, by God’s grace!

IMG_20161128_172004.jpg

My Baptism (taken Nov. 27, 2016)

To end this blog post, let me just share this: within less than a year, I have finally decided:
I’m responding to His call of discipleship.

I knew I am called to make disciples. I remembered one time, our church pastor said, “as followers of Christ, you can’t just receive and receive His word, you also should have the urge to share.” That statement made a mark in my mind, for it is true. Our church always reminded us of the Great Commission.

Matthew 28:19-20
“Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

I know I’m ready. I may be just a student and not self-sufficient, but Jehovah Jireh.

2 thoughts on “A New Path Taken for 2016

  1. Been reading some of your entries in your blog, and wow… I’m so blessed to be reading some of your journal entries from your devotionals (and this too!) πŸ™‚ Keep up the good work and keep that light shining for Him!

    Like

Leave a Reply

